Who Makes it Happen?

The event is organised by the Joint Regatta Committee which comprises up to five members appointed by each of the organising clubs, together with any other non-voting members the Committee chooses to appoint in order to increase its pool of expertise. All members of the JRC are volunteers maintaining the tradition of this great event.

The Week is run by a hard-working Race Team who give their time freely and willingly to provide the best possible racing and results service, sometimes under very difficult circumstances, and they are assisted by the fleet of Official Boats.

Many businesses, organisations and individuals also provide much needed help in making the event a success… thanks are due in particular to staff at Craobh Marina and the Lord of the Isles for helping to get the Week off to a good start. Also to staff at Dunstaffnage & Oban Marinas, Argyll & Bute Council, the Coastguard and the RNLI.

The Joint Regatta Committee is also very grateful to Thomas Tunnock Ltd, Owen Sails, Tobermory Harbour Association, Scottish Canals and Webcraft UK Ltd for their generous contributions towards our development and running costs. Also thanks to West Coast Motors for their support, and to Fairlie Yacht Club and Gigha Heritage Trust for their assistance with the Largs to Ardrishaig and Gigha to Craobh feeder races.

The members of the Joint Regatta Committee are:

Royal Highland Yacht Club

  • B Buchanan-Smith (Chair)
  • J Readman
  • D Marshall (Vice Chair)
  • Laura Caldwell
  • R Wills

Oban Sailing Club

  • C Crawford
  • J Hardie
  • J Gough

Co-opted Members

  • A Daley
  • A Mead (Treasurer)